On blogging…

Been having a relatively tough week… Tough because I’ve been manically packing and cleaning and organizing the old house, in preparation to move to the new house. Relative because I’ve taken the week off work, meaning no early mornings, or rush hour traffic jams, or rushing to find some semi-decent clothes to put on, or dealing with difficult people or having to prepare the monkeys in the morning before I leave… It’s been a much needed break away from work, which has been like a pressure cooker for the last 6 months or so.

It was particularly tough because I’ve been not-so-gently told to stop blogging, or rather, more appropriately, to stop airing dirty laundry in public. Well, not so public, as I don’t get much of an audience, really… My highest viewed posts are never about my personal life, but mostly on my quasi-political commentary and satirical pieces…

The whole purpose of blogging, for me at least, is a form of expression and relief, so that I don’t self-combust or implode with whatever it is that is making me do so. Perhaps it is anger, dissatisfaction, hate, happiness, joy, whatever… It is simply a way for me to express myself.

Perfectly described in Wiki as :

A blog (an abridgment of the term web log) is a website, usually maintained by an individual, with regular entries of commentary, descriptions of events, or other material such as graphics or video. Entries are commonly displayed in reverse chronological order. “Blog” can also be used as a verb, meaning to maintain or add content to a blog.

Many blogs provide commentary or news on a particular subject; others function as more personal online diaries. A typical blog combines text, images, and links to other blogs, web pages, and other media related to its topic. The ability for readers to leave comments in an interactive format is an important part of many blogs.

But then, the government has said that bloggers are usually jobless, lying women who have no credibility, and nothing better to do. If you believe the government, then there’s nothing to worry about, is there?

I apologize, if there are people out there who feel that my blog intrudes into their personal or professional life. It is not my intention. But I do not apologize for its contents, for they are the truth, as far as I’m concerned. It does not matter to me if it bothers you. This world does not revolve around you. I do not spend endless sleepless nights scheming how to take over the world…

As said by Joseph Pulitzer, “Put it before them briefly so they will read it, clearly so they will appreciate it, picturesquely so they will remember it and, above all, accurately so they will be guided by its light.”

Reminding myself that this blog is about me, and my life, and no one else’s – Jasmine.

2 Comments

  1. Nice personal take on blogging; admirable 🙂

    FH

  2. Quote:

    “I do not spend endless sleepless nights scheming how to take over the world…” ..but..but I do…


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

