From Amsterdam to Hamburg

I’ve always wondered when I was a kid, if hamburgers were made out of people who live in Hamburg… Somehow it didn’t make sense that way… I figured maybe hamburgers were invented in Hamburg, then it could also be named so, ehh?

Today, my childish thoughts will finally be put to rest, as I head from Amsterdam to Hamburg. Traveling comfortably in a 40-seater Mercedes coach on the autobahn, I feel incredibly safe although the bus is hurtling along at breakneck speed. I’m guessing it’s going about 180km/h at least, and the bus is a manual one, but the ride is smooth and pleasant. I guess that explains why most of the world’s best drivers come from this region of the world.

It’s somewhat disconcerting initially to see cars behaving as if they’re wishing to commit auto-harakiri. Chayennes, Beamers, VWs, Merces, Fords, and even a fushcia colored Enzo, all driving at insanely high speeds. But traffic is incredibly orderly, and disciplined. No one is tailgating, or behaving like monkeys in general on the roads. There is no border post between Holland and Germany, no tolls to slow you down, and fantastic road conditions make the ride unbelievably pleasant. For the first time ever in my life, I wish I too was able to drive a bus. Think about it, who wouldn’t want to drive a bus at 180 km/h and get away with it? Then again, maybe I wish more that I was driving that soft top baby blue M5 that just overtook us 😛

Had McDonald’s for lunch – by far the most expensive Mackers meal I’ve ever had, and it certainly did not leave me happy or loving it. Although I thoroughly enjoyed it, the high standards of European living has me gasping for breath, as it’s too expensive for my inflation-busted Ringgit-lined pocket. I would love living here in Europe – everything’s cleaner than a whistle, the weather is great and all that, but only if I was earning a bucket of Euros…

Tonight, we will be catching the semi-final game for Euro 2008 in Hamburg, as Germany battles Turkey for a spot on the final two. Who will win? The favorites seem to be Germany, and since I’ll be catching the game here, I better be supporting Germany too, ehh? (I know kinda out of character for me, usually not a big fan of football, but I can’t help it, I’m surrounded by quite a number of people who believe that mankind’s very existence is tied to the outcome of these games).

My apologies, not very coherent thoughts today, just very jumbled random ideas put down…
Been thinking about writing on the sustainable energy source the EU has been implementing – seeing a lot of those wind turbines ever since we landed here, and a system for harnessing tide power on the dykes, but I suppose that will have to wait till tomorrow. Today, brain is too addled by McChicken to be of any use…

Thinking of home, and wishing I had a bucket of Euros to spend – Jasmine.

ps – They do call it the “Hamburger Royal with Cheese”, and not a “1/4 Pounder”. No kidding.

UPDATE
Found out today that I will no longer be handling the keys and hotel section. It has been taken over by a ‘friendlier’ staff member. I suppose it’s because they, or rather one person in particular has made contingency plans just in case I bail out or more likely, kicked out, and now somehow the contingency plan is already in motion. *sigh* Perhaps I should look at it on the bright side, at least I have less work to do. But then again, I wonder what else is being done to make sure I look quite useless?

Also, the handler for the European sector, otherwise known as stinky dude, still holds grudges. It doesn’t help that I burned this bridge myself sometime ago, and recently found out, that the fires that burned this particular bridge was fanned by none other than beloved ‘someone’. (Won’t mention names, just in case I get sued). And just as before, now this someone is trying their darnest best to make me look like a useless parrot, again…

It will never end, will it? It’s only day -4, for God’s sake!!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

